cmiles - info

Life, Tech and Unimportant Minutiae

Second Shift - Order and Third Shift - Pact, Hugh Howey

Created by cmiles on 4/15/2013. Updated by Wordpresss Import on 4/18/2022.

Second Shift - Order and Third Shift - Pact are volumes 7 and 8 of Hugh Howey's Silo Series (on this blog see Wool Omnibus (Wool 1-5) and First Shift – Legacy (Part 6 of the Silo Series)). These two books are good - quite a bit of great 'filling out' of previous characters/plot/world and certainly some motion towards the continuation of the series - if you enjoyed the earlier books then keep reading! It is worth mentioning that, to me, these don't quite have the 'wow' factor of some of the earlier episodes - but I have high hopes that these are a great foundation for what comes next!

Rating: 3 of 5 (although if you are a fan of the series call it 4 of 5 since you will really want to read these!) First Read Date: February 2013

Second Shift - Order Third Shift - Pact

The 'Shift' Books of the Silo Series (6,7,8) are now available as The Shift Omnibus.

Sidenote: There are a number of interviews with Hugh Howey (a simple Google search gives good results), some of these have information on his journey from independent to dealing with a large publisher to having film rights to the series acquired (20th Century Fox/Ridley Scott/Steve Zaillian) - pretty interesting!


Posts Before/After: